Friday, January 27, 2006

Remove one of their boule

Arbiter.Hi Andy. Could you please consider the following hypothetical situation. I am playing in a tournament with no arbiter present. One of my opponents keeps lifting his foot whilst shooting. I warn him not to do this and clearly explain that this is against the rules. After I warn my opponent for a fourth time, I decide to give them a penalty and remove one of their boule. Am I within my rights to do this? Cheers, Tom van Bodegraven.
You can read Andy's answer by following the "comments" link below.

This is a new service in which Andy Gilbert (NZPA Arbiter) answers your questions. Email your question to me and I will post it to this Blog for Andy to ponder.
My email address is: bodebons(at) Make sure you put "Petanque" in the subject line.

- Tom.

Don't forget to visit our new NZ Petanque Wiki site!